Author Topic: Quick start help please  (Read 4820 times)

Test96

Quick start help please
« on: October 30, 2011, 10:37:19 AM »
Hi,

I'm completely new to programming but wouild like to try and make some small apps for Android.

A few days ago I downloaded HAC and ran the installer but while trying to run the Lunar Lander project came across some problems concerning PATHS .
It seems from posts here that PATHS means it can't find something but I don't understand the answers here.

Is there an easy way in just a few steps to install HAC and run the projects?
« Last Edit: November 01, 2011, 02:41:04 PM by Malkom »

Malkom

• Administrator
Re: Quick start help please
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2011, 05:21:25 PM »
Hi,

I'm completely new to programming but wouild like to try and make some small apps for Android.

A few days ago I downloaded HAC and ran the installer but while trying to run the Lunar Lander project came across some problems concerning PATHS .
It seems from posts here that PATHS means it can't find something but I don't understand the answers here.

Is there an easy way in just a few steps to install HAC and run the projects?

Hello

I'm sorry for the problems you are having but HAC does need some helper programs to build Android apps and it cannot run properly without them. It needs both Google's Android SDK and Java SDK installing. Once these are installed it then needs to know the PATHS to where they are located although it can usually find them itself. The error you mentioned will be because HAC did not know the correct PATHS.

1) INSTALLING HAC AND ITS HELPERS

Below is an overview of what needs doing but the details are at this link:-

http://www.hypernextandroid.com/hnfiles/proginstall.html

If you have already done any of these steps then just skip that step.

1) Download HAC, install it but don't run it yet (this step could be done last).

2) Download and install the Java SDK

3) Download and install the Android SDK