Author Topic: Cant find Android device  (Read 12964 times)

sippytom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Cant find Android device
« on: January 03, 2012, 09:08:45 AM »
Hi all,
I am new to Hypernext.
Today I tested and purchased your product.
I cannot find any devices connected to my network.
They are 192.168.1.4 and 5
They are a HTC Desire and a Motorola Xoom
Any thoughts on how I can use these.
I have tried to connect the wireless but cant find.
Do I need to run anything on either of my devices first?

Also will you support MySql database in a later version?

Tom (SippyTom)

Malkom

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 287
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2012, 03:16:40 PM »
Hi all,
I am new to Hypernext.
Today I tested and purchased your product.
I cannot find any devices connected to my network.
They are 192.168.1.4 and 5
They are a HTC Desire and a Motorola Xoom
Any thoughts on how I can use these.
I have tried to connect the wireless but cant find.
Do I need to run anything on either of my devices first?

Also will you support MySql database in a later version?

Tom (SippyTom)

Hi Tom

Thank you for buying and letting us have feedback.


Regarding working via wireless connection:_

I am not sure if you already have your devices using ADB via the addresses you gave.
If you do have them set up for ADB then in HAC use the Go menu and option Wireless Connect
Then enter the address and click the Connect button.
If HAC can see your device it will appear in HAC's Devices Window.
The Devices Window can be opened via the Android menu and option Manage Devices.
Any active devices will appear in the lower listbox and just click the device entry to target it.

If your devices are not running via wireless ADB then you could try an app called adbWireless.
This app creates an ADB channel and connects using wireless to your router or wireless connection. Then you just pass the address adbWireless chose and connect to it with HAC as given above.

You can find info about adbWireless below and it is free on Android Marketplace:-

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=761004

http://www.androidpolice.com/2010/08/20/awesome-app-for-rooted-users-adbwireless/

Note, adbWireless needs certain super user permissions and they can be granted with another free app called Superuser that is also available on MarketPlace.

Just install both apps and when adbWireless tries to run it will be intercepted by Superuser that will ask if you want to give adbWireless root privileges. Once adbWireless has the privileges it will offer a wireless address.


About MySQL - yes we have started MySQL but it won't be out for a few updates as we have some other features to release first. It is high on our list though and will definitely be out soon.

Malkom
I am sorry but I do not have time to answer questions by PM or email.
If you post your questions in this forum then it might help others.

sippytom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2012, 10:07:13 PM »
Thanks for the quick reply.
In normal circumstances how would I setup the devices?
On my XOOM all I did was set debugging mode on.
Re databases, even something simple like dbf would be very handy. This would be very handy for anyone wanting to save variables like names and scores in a game for example.

I will now try those aps and see what happens.

Sippytom

sippytom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2012, 10:24:42 PM »
Hi again. Had a look at adbwireless.  Don't like the idea of rooting my new XOOM. 
But might have to. Also basic for android has an app called b4a-bridge. It gives you the ip address and has start and stop. Might try this or do a bit more net searching about adb.

Sippytom

sippytom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2012, 11:33:42 PM »
HAve done a few tests.
Here are the paths, these are correct aren't they.


also here is the the go build app last bit. all before seemed ok.


  DONE
PH_5 Android BuildAPK.....
Rebuild Data
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\tools\"
The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>apkbuilder "C:\Users\Tom\AppData\Roaming\HAC_Data\data\HN_Runtime

\dist\AndroidInfo.apk" -u -z "C:\Users\Tom\AppData\Roaming\HAC_Data\data\HN_Runtime\bin\AndroidInfo.ap_" -f "C:\Users\Tom

\AppData\Roaming\HAC_Data\data\HN_Runtime\bin\classes.dex"
'apkbuilder' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.


  DONE
PH_6 Android_SignAPK .....TYPE:---   debug.keystore
Debug Data
  DONE
PH_7 Android_SignVerifyAPK .....shell jar verify failed
Android_ADB_Network .....ADB network:
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools\"

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb connect 192.168.1.5

ADB network: unable to connect to 192.168.1.5:5555


  DONE
Android_ADB_Network .....ADB network:
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools\"

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb connect 192.168.1.5

ADB network: unable to connect to 192.168.1.5:5555


  DONE
Android_ADB_Network .....ADB network:
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools\"

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb connect 192.168.1.5

ADB network: unable to connect to 192.168.1.5:5555


  DONE

is all this correct?

SippyTom (Tom)

Malkom

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 287
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2012, 07:26:03 AM »
Hi again. Had a look at adbwireless.  Don't like the idea of rooting my new XOOM. 
But might have to. Also basic for android has an app called b4a-bridge. It gives you the ip address and has start and stop. Might try this or do a bit more net searching about adb.

Sippytom

AdbWireless doesn't root a device so is safe to use. If it can't get the privileges it needs then it doesn't work and no harm is done.
The app Superuser does a kind of temporary "root" in that it just allows the user to grant privileges requested by apps such as adbWireless. When an app requests privilege then you can just tell Superuser to deny it if you want.
We use these on a tablet that won't connect using USB so wireless is the only way. So really Superuser doesn't root a device in the normal sense of the word, it just give them privileges not usually available to them

You are right, if in doubt about some app, just use caution and read a lot as devices are too expensive to foul up.

About b4a-bridge. I think it will be specifically setup to communicate with the Basic4Android system.

I am sorry but I do not have time to answer questions by PM or email.
If you post your questions in this forum then it might help others.

Malkom

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 287
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2012, 07:39:13 AM »
HAve done a few tests.
Here are the paths, these are correct aren't they.


also here is the the go build app last bit. all before seemed ok.


  DONE
PH_5 Android BuildAPK.....
Rebuild Data
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\tools\"
The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>apkbuilder "C:\Users\Tom\AppData\Roaming\HAC_Data\data\HN_Runtime

\dist\AndroidInfo.apk" -u -z "C:\Users\Tom\AppData\Roaming\HAC_Data\data\HN_Runtime\bin\AndroidInfo.ap_" -f "C:\Users\Tom

\AppData\Roaming\HAC_Data\data\HN_Runtime\bin\classes.dex"
'apkbuilder' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.


  DONE
PH_6 Android_SignAPK .....TYPE:---   debug.keystore
Debug Data
  DONE
PH_7 Android_SignVerifyAPK .....shell jar verify failed
Android_ADB_Network .....ADB network:
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools\"

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb connect 192.168.1.5

ADB network: unable to connect to 192.168.1.5:5555


  DONE
Android_ADB_Network .....ADB network:
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools\"

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb connect 192.168.1.5

ADB network: unable to connect to 192.168.1.5:5555


  DONE
Android_ADB_Network .....ADB network:
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools\"

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb connect 192.168.1.5

ADB network: unable to connect to 192.168.1.5:5555


  DONE

is all this correct?

SippyTom (Tom)

Thank you for the picture, it made it much easier to understand.

If you set the Android Jar path to use the Android Jar for API 9 then it should work:-

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platforms\android-9\

The Android SDK manager doesn't install API 9 by default so you will probably have to click its check box (also the Obsolete checkbox) to download and install it.

We are looking into allowing any of the Android Jars to be used but for now this API 9 works with the classes supported by HAC apps back to API 4 and up to the latest.
I am sorry but I do not have time to answer questions by PM or email.
If you post your questions in this forum then it might help others.

Malkom

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 287
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2012, 07:46:06 AM »
The thread is getting a bit long and I can't see if you managed to get USB ADB working with your devices and HAC.

Anyhow, here are some posts that might help others:-

For HTC Desire:-

http://myhtcdesire.com/tutorials/how-to-install-the-adb-driver-on-windows


For Motorola Zoom:-

http://www.motorola.com/Support/US-EN/Support-Homepage/Software_and_Drivers/USB-and-PC-Charging-Drivers

I am sorry but I do not have time to answer questions by PM or email.
If you post your questions in this forum then it might help others.

sippytom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2012, 08:04:14 AM »
Sorry to be  pain, but where is the ski manager to I find API-9?
I have loaded the tools and 3.2.
Where do I look now?

Tom

sippytom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2012, 08:25:22 AM »
oops, found it. downloading now

sippytom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2012, 08:58:16 AM »
Have the USB working on the xoom now. Thanks for that.
Also have the API9 version working.
When I run the Hello world I get a Sorry. "Stopped etc." on the xoom.
Have tested others as well and get same result.
Have included log file for you as well.
I realize this is in the wrong area but needed to explain that things are on the improve.
all I need now is the wireless to work

Tom

Malkom

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 287
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2012, 12:24:59 PM »
Have the USB working on the xoom now. Thanks for that.
Also have the API9 version working.
When I run the Hello world I get a Sorry. "Stopped etc." on the xoom.
Have tested others as well and get same result.
Have included log file for you as well.
I realize this is in the wrong area but needed to explain that things are on the improve.
all I need now is the wireless to work

Tom
Thats great you got the ADB connection stuff working.

The "Sorry stopped" bug appearing is so disappointing as we thought the cause was fixed in v1.08
It seems there are at least 3 versions of HTC Desire, running Android 2.1, 2.2 and 2.3
I wonder which version yours is running?


 
I'm not sure if you are familiar with the DDMS debugger that can usually give useful information on an app's state when running on a device or emulator.

DDMS can be run from within HAC using the Go menu via option Debugger DDMS

Once running DDMS  should show the point where the Hello World app crashed.

DDMS is also useful as a debugging utility as HAC apps can display messages in DDMS.

Malkom


I am sorry but I do not have time to answer questions by PM or email.
If you post your questions in this forum then it might help others.

sippytom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2012, 12:34:40 PM »
surprise surprise I have it going on the xoom. That is where the error is occuring.
What should I be looking for in the debugger. Have lots of red bits.
Tom

sippytom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2012, 12:59:47 PM »
just found new adb drivers for the HTC Desire.
http://www.mediafire.com/?mhzhki52ntbmmiz

The htc works like a charm via usb.
The error occur on the xoom tablet. bugger
Will now do more tests on the xoom since this is the main platform for my work.
Thanks for your help. (I will be asking more tho, I am sure)

Tom

Malkom

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 287
Re: Cant find Android device
« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2012, 04:00:20 PM »
just found new adb drivers for the HTC Desire.
http://www.mediafire.com/?mhzhki52ntbmmiz

The htc works like a charm via usb.
The error occur on the xoom tablet. bugger
Will now do more tests on the xoom since this is the main platform for my work.
Thanks for your help. (I will be asking more tho, I am sure)

Tom

Many thanks for the feedback on this as it helps us a lot.
Seeing that it works on HTC is a good sign that the bug was fixed but there must be another issue with the Zoom as it has Android OS 3.2 or 3.21 I think. I'll try to work out what might be going wrong.

About using DDMS it can be quite subjective about which settings to use when looking at its output.
However, for crashes, the source will be shown in red, just as you saw.

There is a pulldown menu (option box) on the right hand side that is usually set to Verbose.
For error checking such as crashes set it to Error, although I usually set it to Info as that gives more context.

Regarding the large scrolling info window with all the messages.
The fourth column along from the left is Application, this is the source of the messages.
For Hello World it should contain something like org.HelloWorld

The actual crash info usually gives several error messages in red.
The first is usually the error but after it are several reports from the code hierarchy that help when debugging.

If you haven't already figured this out I hope this makes sense

By the way, it can be quite fun to watch DDMS message output set to verbose as even when a device is sitting apparently just idling there is a lot happening.

Malkom

I am sorry but I do not have time to answer questions by PM or email.
If you post your questions in this forum then it might help others.

 

anything