HyperNext Android Creator

Finding help on HAC => Installing HAC => Topic started by: sippytom on January 03, 2012, 09:08:45 AM

Title: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 03, 2012, 09:08:45 AM
Hi all,
I am new to Hypernext.
Today I tested and purchased your product.
I cannot find any devices connected to my network.
They are 192.168.1.4 and 5
They are a HTC Desire and a Motorola Xoom
Any thoughts on how I can use these.
I have tried to connect the wireless but cant find.
Do I need to run anything on either of my devices first?

Also will you support MySql database in a later version?

Tom (SippyTom)
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: Malkom on January 03, 2012, 03:16:40 PM
Hi all,
I am new to Hypernext.
Today I tested and purchased your product.
I cannot find any devices connected to my network.
They are 192.168.1.4 and 5
They are a HTC Desire and a Motorola Xoom
Any thoughts on how I can use these.
I have tried to connect the wireless but cant find.
Do I need to run anything on either of my devices first?

Also will you support MySql database in a later version?

Tom (SippyTom)

Hi Tom

Thank you for buying and letting us have feedback.


Regarding working via wireless connection:_

I am not sure if you already have your devices using ADB via the addresses you gave.
If you do have them set up for ADB then in HAC use the Go menu and option Wireless Connect
Then enter the address and click the Connect button.
If HAC can see your device it will appear in HAC's Devices Window.
The Devices Window can be opened via the Android menu and option Manage Devices.
Any active devices will appear in the lower listbox and just click the device entry to target it.

If your devices are not running via wireless ADB then you could try an app called adbWireless.
This app creates an ADB channel and connects using wireless to your router or wireless connection. Then you just pass the address adbWireless chose and connect to it with HAC as given above.

You can find info about adbWireless below and it is free on Android Marketplace:-

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=761004

http://www.androidpolice.com/2010/08/20/awesome-app-for-rooted-users-adbwireless/

Note, adbWireless needs certain super user permissions and they can be granted with another free app called Superuser that is also available on MarketPlace.

Just install both apps and when adbWireless tries to run it will be intercepted by Superuser that will ask if you want to give adbWireless root privileges. Once adbWireless has the privileges it will offer a wireless address.


About MySQL - yes we have started MySQL but it won't be out for a few updates as we have some other features to release first. It is high on our list though and will definitely be out soon.

Malkom
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 03, 2012, 10:07:13 PM
Thanks for the quick reply.
In normal circumstances how would I setup the devices?
On my XOOM all I did was set debugging mode on.
Re databases, even something simple like dbf would be very handy. This would be very handy for anyone wanting to save variables like names and scores in a game for example.

I will now try those aps and see what happens.

Sippytom
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 03, 2012, 10:24:42 PM
Hi again. Had a look at adbwireless.  Don't like the idea of rooting my new XOOM. 
But might have to. Also basic for android has an app called b4a-bridge. It gives you the ip address and has start and stop. Might try this or do a bit more net searching about adb.

Sippytom
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 03, 2012, 11:33:42 PM
HAve done a few tests.
Here are the paths, these are correct aren't they.
(http://)

also here is the the go build app last bit. all before seemed ok.


  DONE
PH_5 Android BuildAPK.....
Rebuild Data
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\tools\"
The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>apkbuilder "C:\Users\Tom\AppData\Roaming\HAC_Data\data\HN_Runtime

\dist\AndroidInfo.apk" -u -z "C:\Users\Tom\AppData\Roaming\HAC_Data\data\HN_Runtime\bin\AndroidInfo.ap_" -f "C:\Users\Tom

\AppData\Roaming\HAC_Data\data\HN_Runtime\bin\classes.dex"
'apkbuilder' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.


  DONE
PH_6 Android_SignAPK .....TYPE:---   debug.keystore
Debug Data
  DONE
PH_7 Android_SignVerifyAPK .....shell jar verify failed
Android_ADB_Network .....ADB network:
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools\"

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb connect 192.168.1.5

ADB network: unable to connect to 192.168.1.5:5555


  DONE
Android_ADB_Network .....ADB network:
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools\"

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb connect 192.168.1.5

ADB network: unable to connect to 192.168.1.5:5555


  DONE
Android_ADB_Network .....ADB network:
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools\"

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb connect 192.168.1.5

ADB network: unable to connect to 192.168.1.5:5555


  DONE

is all this correct?

SippyTom (Tom)
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: Malkom on January 04, 2012, 07:26:03 AM
Hi again. Had a look at adbwireless.  Don't like the idea of rooting my new XOOM. 
But might have to. Also basic for android has an app called b4a-bridge. It gives you the ip address and has start and stop. Might try this or do a bit more net searching about adb.

Sippytom

AdbWireless doesn't root a device so is safe to use. If it can't get the privileges it needs then it doesn't work and no harm is done.
The app Superuser does a kind of temporary "root" in that it just allows the user to grant privileges requested by apps such as adbWireless. When an app requests privilege then you can just tell Superuser to deny it if you want.
We use these on a tablet that won't connect using USB so wireless is the only way. So really Superuser doesn't root a device in the normal sense of the word, it just give them privileges not usually available to them

You are right, if in doubt about some app, just use caution and read a lot as devices are too expensive to foul up.

About b4a-bridge. I think it will be specifically setup to communicate with the Basic4Android system.

Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: Malkom on January 04, 2012, 07:39:13 AM
HAve done a few tests.
Here are the paths, these are correct aren't they.
(http://)

also here is the the go build app last bit. all before seemed ok.


  DONE
PH_5 Android BuildAPK.....
Rebuild Data
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\tools\"
The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>apkbuilder "C:\Users\Tom\AppData\Roaming\HAC_Data\data\HN_Runtime

\dist\AndroidInfo.apk" -u -z "C:\Users\Tom\AppData\Roaming\HAC_Data\data\HN_Runtime\bin\AndroidInfo.ap_" -f "C:\Users\Tom

\AppData\Roaming\HAC_Data\data\HN_Runtime\bin\classes.dex"
'apkbuilder' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.


  DONE
PH_6 Android_SignAPK .....TYPE:---   debug.keystore
Debug Data
  DONE
PH_7 Android_SignVerifyAPK .....shell jar verify failed
Android_ADB_Network .....ADB network:
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools\"

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb connect 192.168.1.5

ADB network: unable to connect to 192.168.1.5:5555


  DONE
Android_ADB_Network .....ADB network:
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools\"

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb connect 192.168.1.5

ADB network: unable to connect to 192.168.1.5:5555


  DONE
Android_ADB_Network .....ADB network:
C:\Users\Tom\Documents\My Android  projects\AndroidInfo>cd "C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools\"

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb connect 192.168.1.5

ADB network: unable to connect to 192.168.1.5:5555


  DONE

is all this correct?

SippyTom (Tom)

Thank you for the picture, it made it much easier to understand.

If you set the Android Jar path to use the Android Jar for API 9 then it should work:-

C:\Android_sdk\android-sdk\platforms\android-9\

The Android SDK manager doesn't install API 9 by default so you will probably have to click its check box (also the Obsolete checkbox) to download and install it.

We are looking into allowing any of the Android Jars to be used but for now this API 9 works with the classes supported by HAC apps back to API 4 and up to the latest.
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: Malkom on January 04, 2012, 07:46:06 AM
The thread is getting a bit long and I can't see if you managed to get USB ADB working with your devices and HAC.

Anyhow, here are some posts that might help others:-

For HTC Desire:-

http://myhtcdesire.com/tutorials/how-to-install-the-adb-driver-on-windows (http://myhtcdesire.com/tutorials/how-to-install-the-adb-driver-on-windows)


For Motorola Zoom:-

http://www.motorola.com/Support/US-EN/Support-Homepage/Software_and_Drivers/USB-and-PC-Charging-Drivers (http://www.motorola.com/Support/US-EN/Support-Homepage/Software_and_Drivers/USB-and-PC-Charging-Drivers)

Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 04, 2012, 08:04:14 AM
Sorry to be  pain, but where is the ski manager to I find API-9?
I have loaded the tools and 3.2.
Where do I look now?

Tom
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 04, 2012, 08:25:22 AM
oops, found it. downloading now
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 04, 2012, 08:58:16 AM
Have the USB working on the xoom now. Thanks for that.
Also have the API9 version working.
When I run the Hello world I get a Sorry. "Stopped etc." on the xoom.
Have tested others as well and get same result.
Have included log file for you as well.
I realize this is in the wrong area but needed to explain that things are on the improve.
all I need now is the wireless to work

Tom
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: Malkom on January 04, 2012, 12:24:59 PM
Have the USB working on the xoom now. Thanks for that.
Also have the API9 version working.
When I run the Hello world I get a Sorry. "Stopped etc." on the xoom.
Have tested others as well and get same result.
Have included log file for you as well.
I realize this is in the wrong area but needed to explain that things are on the improve.
all I need now is the wireless to work

Tom
Thats great you got the ADB connection stuff working.

The "Sorry stopped" bug appearing is so disappointing as we thought the cause was fixed in v1.08
It seems there are at least 3 versions of HTC Desire, running Android 2.1, 2.2 and 2.3
I wonder which version yours is running?


 
I'm not sure if you are familiar with the DDMS debugger that can usually give useful information on an app's state when running on a device or emulator.

DDMS can be run from within HAC using the Go menu via option Debugger DDMS

Once running DDMS  should show the point where the Hello World app crashed.

DDMS is also useful as a debugging utility as HAC apps can display messages in DDMS.

Malkom


Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 04, 2012, 12:34:40 PM
surprise surprise I have it going on the xoom. That is where the error is occuring.
What should I be looking for in the debugger. Have lots of red bits.
Tom
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 04, 2012, 12:59:47 PM
just found new adb drivers for the HTC Desire.
http://www.mediafire.com/?mhzhki52ntbmmiz

The htc works like a charm via usb.
The error occur on the xoom tablet. bugger
Will now do more tests on the xoom since this is the main platform for my work.
Thanks for your help. (I will be asking more tho, I am sure)

Tom
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: Malkom on January 04, 2012, 04:00:20 PM
just found new adb drivers for the HTC Desire.
http://www.mediafire.com/?mhzhki52ntbmmiz

The htc works like a charm via usb.
The error occur on the xoom tablet. bugger
Will now do more tests on the xoom since this is the main platform for my work.
Thanks for your help. (I will be asking more tho, I am sure)

Tom

Many thanks for the feedback on this as it helps us a lot.
Seeing that it works on HTC is a good sign that the bug was fixed but there must be another issue with the Zoom as it has Android OS 3.2 or 3.21 I think. I'll try to work out what might be going wrong.

About using DDMS it can be quite subjective about which settings to use when looking at its output.
However, for crashes, the source will be shown in red, just as you saw.

There is a pulldown menu (option box) on the right hand side that is usually set to Verbose.
For error checking such as crashes set it to Error, although I usually set it to Info as that gives more context.

Regarding the large scrolling info window with all the messages.
The fourth column along from the left is Application, this is the source of the messages.
For Hello World it should contain something like org.HelloWorld

The actual crash info usually gives several error messages in red.
The first is usually the error but after it are several reports from the code hierarchy that help when debugging.

If you haven't already figured this out I hope this makes sense

By the way, it can be quite fun to watch DDMS message output set to verbose as even when a device is sitting apparently just idling there is a lot happening.

Malkom

Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 04, 2012, 09:34:48 PM
Morning Malkom,
Had a thought last night in bed. A difference between the tablet and phone is that the tablet does not have a sd card. (Well I have not put one in as yet)
Do you write to the sd card or whatever memory is available.
I have 32 gigs so did not see the reason for putting some in.
Just a thought. Also put an idea up re databases last night as well.

Tom

Btw will check the debu'gger when I get home this afternoon.
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: Malkom on January 05, 2012, 07:41:59 AM
Morning Malkom,
Had a thought last night in bed. A difference between the tablet and phone is that the tablet does not have a sd card. (Well I have not put one in as yet)
Do you write to the sd card or whatever memory is available.
I have 32 gigs so did not see the reason for putting some in.
Just a thought. Also put an idea up re databases last night as well.

Tom

Btw will check the debu'gger when I get home this afternoon.

Hi Tom

Thats a brilliant thought and you might have solved it because yes, an SD card is needed.
HAC built apps make a copy of their data and place it on SD card because the Android OS protects/limits what can be done with the data on internal storage. Some early phones didn't have an SD card as standard but adding one enabled HAC apps to work on them.

I read your thoughts on database. With regard to quick easy storage of game prefs data etc - I did some quick tests on a HAC app but found a bug. When an app quits it has the option of saving all its data including variables, fields etc but this bug prevents that happening. Basically the app now just loads its the original data that was placed in its fields when it was first installed. We'll get this fixed as top priority but are currently getting ready to release an urgent update to HAC that allows it to run on non-English language Windows systems such as Greek etc.

Malkom

 
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 05, 2012, 08:49:20 AM
I will go and buy an sd-card tomorrow and see what happens. fingers crossed.
Tis amazing what you think about in bed. lol

My database needs are huge. Most of the apps I need to build will need a good database, either dbf or mySql.
What they will do is sync with the windows version of the software when the clients needs to do an update. This hopefully will be done via wireless or usb. I need a foolproof way of syncing the data. (for me to figure out)
I am using your software because of the intuitive way you build cards. I use a very similar idea with tabs so the porting of the tabs to the screens will be easy. As you can imagine my only problem is the use of a database.

Have been searching all afternoon on adb wireless. It does seem that I will have to root the tablet. I am still very weary of doing this.
I also did some console tests on the xoom but permission was not granted for anything to do with adb. Would it have anything to do with the port that adb on windows is looking for. (5555 I think)
Can I find out what port in being used on the xoom?

Tom
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 05, 2012, 11:39:06 AM
success with adb
With heaps of google searching I found a command prompt for adb.
All I put in was adb connect 192.168.1.5:5555
It works. Maybe in your adb wireless connect put in that you you need :5555 as well
Happy chap. All I need now is a sd card

Tom
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 05, 2012, 11:55:52 AM
forget that last bit. No idea what I did but worked for a bit.
Have put in an old sd card from old phone. Still has same problem.
After turning off the xoom and installing card then the adb wireless stopped working.
Back to the drawing board.
Anything that I need to do to use the card i.e. format it etc.
Tom
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 05, 2012, 12:06:46 PM
and now for the bad news. The sd card is read only on the xoom. Have done some reading on it, motorola have not said when this will be fixed, bugger. Is their any way for your program to do the install on my main memory not the sd card memory. (please)
All of my apps will be written for the tablet series of devices.

Tom
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 05, 2012, 12:29:32 PM
Just a thought. Basic4Android works fine with adb wireless and the apps will start on the xoom and can be debugged.
It will be a shame if I have to go this way, since I like the look and feel of your software so much better.
and they have mysql working well.

Tom
Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: Malkom on January 05, 2012, 12:57:25 PM
and now for the bad news. The sd card is read only on the xoom. Have done some reading on it, motorola have not said when this will be fixed, bugger. Is their any way for your program to do the install on my main memory not the sd card memory. (please)
All of my apps will be written for the tablet series of devices.

Tom

There might be good news on Zoom as this article below says an update was released (August 2011) that fixed a number of issues and aded new features, including writeable SDcard although perhaps they aren't really writeable.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2390568,00.asp (http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2390568,00.asp)


Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: Malkom on January 05, 2012, 01:00:40 PM
success with adb
With heaps of google searching I found a command prompt for adb.
All I put in was adb connect 192.168.1.5:5555
It works. Maybe in your adb wireless connect put in that you you need :5555 as well
Happy chap. All I need now is a sd card

Tom

Sorry, I could have saved you the search as I often use this command from a DOS shell :(

I just use adb connect 192.168.1.66

if the 5555 port is not added then it is assumed.

Title: Re: Cant find Android device
Post by: sippytom on January 05, 2012, 02:09:38 PM
You can sort of use the card now, but a comment in an article said developers found not use it since you cannot write to it. You can via usb tho from what they say. Will have another look in the morning. Bed time for me.
Btw this is being typed on the XOOM.
so hope I can use your software not basic4android.

Tom